RSS Feed

Downtown San Diego has more sports than just Padres TOST

Time Out Sports Tavern is located at 634 Broadway, downtownSan Diego.  They aren’t seasoned veterans at this business, but they aren’t exactly rookies anymore.  I don’t know if it’s fair to complain about a business that’s located on Broadway in the heart ofDowntownS.D. with it’s inherent parking trouble, but I suppose I need to admit that’s one issue I do have with this venue.

 

I went to TOST once after they first opened, and found it was lacking in food taste.  I went with Mike who is a regular inSan Diego’s Gaslamp spots who just wanted to check out a new spot.  We both agreed maybe the poor showing was due to a  lack of experience.  Mike said he’d rather eat at the Beer Company, about three stores west on Broadway but he also said that burger wasn’t good enough to go back for another one anytime soon.

 

I’m nothing if not fair in my task of providing reviews of good spots for food and atmosphere.  So I returned to TOST because I’d heard it was really good.  One of their regulars swears by them.  I returned for another taste.  I still found the food a little subpar.  I’m not a smoker, so I don’t really care but the patio is smaller than most apartment patios.  Plus the traffic on Broadway is near never ending.  I do enjoy a good Ruben sandwich whenever I can get one… and trying to stay in the scientific mode, another Rubin was on the table for a recheck.  The prices are good.  But if you don’t enjoy the meal, I don’t care if it’s free, I don’t think I’ll be back to TOST anytime soon.

 

On the plus side, I give them 4 out of 6 stars for good sports viewing.  Big screen wall hung and a decent atmosphere for rooting the team on.  You can play pool if there’s no game on, so if you want a decent place to decompress with beer and sports this may be the spot for you.  I’d also go if I lived within a few blocks, but I’d fill up on another’s fare before getting here.

 

Leave a Reply

