RSS Feed

If you try one pie you’ve had them all – wrong

I have searched for a directory providing an inventory of both sumptuous baked pies and advice as to which ones are best but have come up short in my search.  I’ve found lists of the ‘top 10 pies’ but I’d like a complete list of great tasting bakeries doing our blood glucose no favors.

 

I will therefore create an inventory, knowing good shops are omitted, here is a list of shops claiming to be the best:

 

I have searched for a directory providing an inventory of both sumptuous baked pies and advice as to which ones are best but have come up short in my search.  I’ve found lists of the ‘top 10 pies’ but I’d like a complete list of great tasting bakeries doing our blood glucose no favors.

 

I will therefore create an inventory, knowing good shops are omitted, here is a list of shops claiming to be the best:

 

Julian Pie Co; Mom’s Pie House; V G Donut & Bakery; Edelweiss Bakery; City Delicatessen & Bakery; Michele Coulon Dessertier; Elizabethan Desserts; Carlsbad Danish Bakery; Crest Cafe; Du-Par’s

Those are the top 10 shops for sweet delights as judged by City Search.

To the City Search list I am adding 10 more shops to indulge in.

Dudley’s Bakery; Extraordinary Desserts; Hogetsu Bakery; Heaven Sent Desserts; Brothers Family Restaurant; Hans & Harry’s Bakery Corp; Peace Pies; Maye’s Desserts & Bistro; The Incredible Cheesecake Company; & Centifonti Restaurant will be number 10 on my list making for 20 locations I’ve uncovered for consideration.

These will keep me busy for a few weeks and if I indulge too much I can audition for next years Biggest Looser.  Look out Chaz Bono.  If you’d like me to add your favorite spot to my list, my address is gammon27@cox.net.

This article is in response to a tasting I had at Cocos Bakery Restaurant.  I tried the raspberry swirl cheese pie and found it worth high praise. Nancy bought it and after a small sampling, we left the whole pie with Carlos, our son-in-law.  After realizing the  mistake we decided to buy one pie for us and stopped at another Cocos to purchase another just for us.

The Raspberry Swirl Cheese Pie we purchased at1025 Fletcher Parkway inEl Cajon was pure pleasure.  The one we bought from1324 E. Main Street wasn’t as good.  Location, location, location… it does make a difference.  The bottom line is, the raspberry swirl from Cocos may be worth your attention.  I found it not so sweet as to kick me into hyper glucose frenzy and very good.  The second pie wasn’t as good.  The crust was Oreo cookie and so any char on it was under the radar but it tasted like a few too many minutes were had on the grill for this pie.

 

Leave a Reply

